Skip to Search

Find help in your community by entering your zip code OR city and state.

  • Zip Code
  • City/State
Skip Navigation LinksHome > About > Aging Network > State Units on Aging

States Units on Aging

State Units on Aging (SUAs) are the designated agencies at the state level responsible for developing and administering a multi-year state plan that advocates for and provides assistance to older residents, their families and, in many states, for adults with physical disabilities. The 56 SUAs are located in each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Mariana Islands, and the Virgin Islands.

The term "state unit on aging" is a general term: the specific title and organization of each governmental unit will vary from state to state and may be called a Department, Office, Bureau, Commission, Council, or Board for the elderly, seniors, aging, older adults, and/or adults with physical disabilities.

Most states are divided into planning and service areas (PSAs), so that programs can be tailored to meet the specific needs of older persons residing in those areas. Funding for programs is allocated to each SUA based on the number of persons over the age of 60 in the state.